The Emperor’s Tomb

ENGL 205 – Central European Literature

There are several unfamiliar terms within The Emperor’s Tomb. We are supposed to locate at least ten unfamiliar terms, define them, and them give a summary of how we go about understanding new words or phrases while we read.

Here is my response for this particular question.

 New Terms in The Emperor’s Tomb

  1. A parish is an ecclesiastical district having its own church and member of the clergy.
  2. The verb ennobled means to elevate in degree, excellence, or respect; dignify; exalt.
  3. The German word Habsburg in English means a German princely family, prominent since the 13th century, that has furnished sovereigns to the Holy Roman Empire, Austria, Spain, etc.
  4. Makhorka is a course tobacco grown especially in the Ukraine.
  5. Samogonka is the German word that is akin to moonshine.
  6. The adjective superfluous means being more than is sufficient or required; excessive.
  7. A yeomanry is a group of yeomen, or British volunteer cavalry forces, formed in 1761 that became part of the British Territorial Army in 1907.
  8. A haversack is a soldier’s bag for rations, extra clothing and other items.
  9. A progeny is something that originates or results from something else; offspring.
  10. A harbinger is a person that announces something; somebody that foreshadows or anticipates a future event.
  11. The 9th Dragoons were a cavalry regiment of the British Army. They are known best for their roles in the Indian mutiny of 1857 and for their part in the North American campaign of WWII including the retreat to and the battle of El Alamein in 1942.
  12. An assize is a criminal court session.

In high school, my A.P. Language and Composition class required us to learn all of the 100 Words Every High School Graduate Should Know. Shockingly, those 100 words I have actually seen since high school. At the time they were obscure, but knowing them has helped me in some more complex readings I’ve done since I graduated. Generally, I try to discover the meanings of words through context clues before looking them up. If I can look around the paragraph the unfamiliar term in written in, I can usually figure out what it means. However, as in this novel, foreign words will never cease to confuse me. Therefore, I lmost always have to look up the definitions of words of other languages. If I can figure out the part of speech the word is by looking at the sentence it is in, that also aids me in discovering the meaning of the word. Overall, I rather dislike having to look up the exact definition of a word, when I can usually figure it out on my own.

Posted on October 10, 2011, in Homework, This Is The Way I Live. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

